We are Jyoti
Fair Works

ABOUT US

Jyoti - Fair Works is a German-Indian fair fashion label that produces socially and ecologically sustainable fashion. It is our goal to make clothes and accessories that not only make our customers happy, but also the people involved in their production - from cotton farmers and weavers to the seamstresses. To be able ensure every participant’s wellbeing, it is important for us to get to know the people involved in our supply chain.

In cooperation with the NGO, Jyothi Seva Kendra, we employ socially disadvantaged women as seamstresses in our sewing workshop in the South Indian town Chittapur. We offer them permanent employment, opportunities for training, health checks, and a fair salary. Along the whole supply chain, we work with small family businesses and cooperatives. They weave, print, and lovingly craft all our clothes with traditional techniques.

Over the course of our many journeys to India, we got to know them personally. This way, we not only ensure the quality of the clothes, as well as an environmentally friendly production, but also make sure that the producers receive a decent living wage and avoid money being lost to middle men or large corporations. Sustainability is not only important to us in relation to the production of our raw materials, but also influences the design of our products. We try to design pieces that are timeless and of good quality and thus can be worn for many years. In the production of our clothes, we are aiming at producing as little waste as possible, and advocate a responsible use of resources.

Furthermore, we regard Jyoti – Fair Works as a medium to start a DISCUSSION. A discussion about the value of our clothes, and the work that goes into them; about how we can change the textile industry in a sustainable way and how we can achieve a global economic system that is more just. An important first step is more transparency, and this is where we want to start. It is for this reason that we consistently communicate openly about how we work, where we work, and about what issues we are facing.

Fairtrade nähen stricken handgemacht
Fairtrade nähen stricken handgemacht
»We will probably not be able to change the textile industry by ourselves. But we can serve as a positive example by showing that it can be done differently, better, more justly. We can be an inspiration for other companies and an alternative for our customers. And we can provide fifteen women in India with a livelihood. We think that is already quite an achievement.«
– Jeanine, Founder –

Vision We want to promote our vision for a different textile industry with a focus on human beings and the environment, instead of profit.

Mission As a fair fashion label, we want to make sure that everybody across the supply chain can live on what they earn. Moreover, it is our top priority to minimise the environmental impacts of textile production.

Value We act in a financially, socially, and ecologically sustainable way. We believe in a trusting partnership where every participant has equal rights, with open cooperation for joint development with the women in India, our partners, and our clients.


This is where your
clothes
are made

Our Team in India

In our textile workshop, which is located on the campus of the NGO ‘Jyothi Seva Kendra’ in Chittapur, 11 seamstresses lovingly craft your favourite pieces! Sister Lucy Priya takes care of all administrative tasks and the direct coordination with our office in Berlin. With the beginning of 2017 our team was expanded and now five more women from the small village Londa are supporting us. Sister Laveena is responsible for the coordination of this second stitching workshop.

TEAM CHITTAPUR

Ayesha Ayesha im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien Ayesha Ayesha im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien

Since 2014, Ayesha has been responsible for the positive vibes in the Indian Jyoti team. Alongside sewing different accessories and clothes, she always makes jokes. She has the most fun when working with the sewing machine, and at the moment she especially enjoys sewing the new collection. Nagma affectionately calls her ‘little sister’- they got to know each other when they started working with Jyoti and have since become best friends.

Nagma Nagma im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien Nagma Nagma im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien

In 2014, Nagma took over for her sister Nilofar, because Nilofar left Chittapur to get married. Just like her sister, Nagma values the team and the good working conditions. She is very curious and always interested in new cuts. She enjoys working on the sewing machine. Just like her best friend Ayesha, Nagma is super happy every time a delivery is ready to be posted to Germany.

Safiya Safiya im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien Safiya Safiya im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien

Safiya has been a member of the Indian team for five years, and her radiating smile brings cheerfulness to the workshop. She sews the clothes for our new collection with great care and accuracy. To her, the sewing workshop is a refuge, where she can forget all her worries and tensions, and can enjoy the company of her colleagues.

Suvarna Suvarna im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien Suvarna Suvarna im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien

Suvarna has also been an integral part of the Indian team since the beginning. Her colleagues value her calm nature and her ability to explain even complicated things clearly and understandably. She says the work with Jyoti has made her stronger and braver, helps her financially and makes her very happy. In the past six years she has not only learned to speak English, but also to read.

Halima Halima im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien Halima Halima im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien

Halima has been a member of the team since Jyoti’s founding in 2010, and is always ready to advise other members of the team, especially the younger ones. Halima’s speciality is doing detailed embroidery. She values the financial security the employment with Jyoti gives her because it enables her to pay for her children’s education.

Parveen Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien Parveen Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien

Parveen has been with with Jyoti in Chittapur since 2010 and she loves working on the sewing machine. In the past six years, Parveen has learned a lot – not only in relation to sewing, but also in terms of social interaction with other people. She has become a lot more open and courageous, and is happy to be able to speak freely and openly on the JSF campus.

Shabanna Shabanna im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien Shabanna Shabanna im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien

Shabanna, affectionately called Shabu, looks forward every morning to the sociable get-together and the work with her colleagues. She has worked here as a seamstress from the beginning, and enjoys learning new cuts and designs. Her loud, happy laugh is integral to the Indian team.

Yasmeen Yasmeen im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien Yasmeen Yasmeen im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien

Yasmeen has been working in the Indian team for three years now and likes to decorate the Jyoti favourites with embroidery. Due to her calm and quiet nature she is always very focused on her work. Together with Ayesha, Nagma, and Shabanna is one of the ‘babies’ of the Jyoti family. They like to get together and have lots of fun.

Laxmi Laxmi im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien Laxmi Laxmi im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien

Laxmi has been an integral part of the Indian team since 2014. She is happy about all the new patterns she has worked with in the past two years here. She describes the sewing workshop as a place where she can forget her worries for some time. She is interested in everything that happens on the Jyothi Seva Kendra campus, and is always very happy to get to know new people and learn about their lives.

Rizwana Riswana im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien Rizwana Riswana im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien

Rizwana also has been part of the Indian team since the beginning. For her, the Jyoti team is like a second family (“We are one family here“). She enjoys using new patterns and also loves working on the sewing machine. Her colleagues affectionately call her "the heart and soul of the sewing business".

Shashirekha Shashireika im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien Shashirekha Shashireika im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien

Shashirekha only joined the team last year. She likes sewing and embroidery, and enjoys the realisation of the new collection. She is especially taken with the trousers Hamina. Before starting to work with Jyoti, she was already a good seamstress, but says that she only learned proper and neat finishing with Jyoti- Fair Works. She is especially happy about the opportunity to practise her English.

Sister Lucy Priya Sister Lucy Priya Teamleiter im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien Sister Lucy Priya Sister Lucy Priya Teamleiter im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien

Sister Lucy Priya has been managing our sewing workshop in Chittapur for six years now and thus looks after the staff, the finances, administration, and all local organisational issues that arise. She always has a sympathetic ear for all questions coming from the Indian and the German team, and is the heart and soul of Jyoti- Fair Works. In her full-time job, she runs the entrie Jyothi Seva Kendra Trust in Chittapur - depending on the situation, with a stern look or a mischievous smile.

TEAM LONDA

Sambreen Sambreen im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien Sambreen Ayesha im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien

Sambreen is the cheeky monkey of Team Londa. With her charming quick-wittedness she creates a great atmosphere in the team, always having a funny line in store. However, when she is busy sewing, she is highly concentrated and it can be difficult to make her stop for the afternoon chai break.

Arpana Arpana im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien Arpana Arpana im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien

Arpana who has many nicknames such as “Pinky” or “sweetest auntie with the sweetest chai”, has been friends with Priya and Malaprabha for years. She loves the community with her old and newly made friends at Jyoti – Fair Works and enjoys the relaxed ambience. Unlike the other women, Arpana’s favourite task is ironing. But if she is not busy ironing fabrics, for a change she likes it best to work on our bag Balangir or the toiletries bag Kanpur.

Malaprabha Malaprabha im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien Malaprabha Malaprabha im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien

Malaprabha has a degree in fashion tailoring and gives sewing classes at the Londa Social Center. Not only is she a great support for Jyoti with her previous experience, but she has also turned out to be an excellent English teacher.

Shobha Shobha im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien Shobha Shobha im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien

Shobha only got to know the other Jyoti members, when she joined the team but feels like they have been friends forever. Despite her calm nature, Shobha’s infectious laugh can turn any day into a good one. At work, she feels safe and confident and Shobha is especially proud to now be able to support her four children and her husband with her own salary.

Priya Priya im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien Priya Priya im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien

Priya is the embroidery enthusiast and expert in Londa, and an indispensible part of the team. With her calm and considerate nature, she brings a pleasant atmosphere to the sewing centre.

Heads
are spinning here

Our Team in Germany

The German team is located in a co-working space in Neukölln, Berlin, that is if they are not in Chittapur to introduce new cuts or travelling along their supply chain in India. Here in Berlin, we calculate, plan, pack, design, think and also laugh a lot.

Jeanine Jeanine im Jyoti Fair Works Team Deutschland Jeanine Jeanine im Jyoti Fair Works Team Deutschland

Jeanine is founder, CEO and communication hub between our teams in India and Germany. It is exactly this personal exchange and the deriving inspiration that she loves about her job at Jyoti. Due to her background in the field of labour law and unionisation, she is not only interested in the steady improvement of our own production, but constantly searches for approaches addressing the general problems of the Fast Fashion Industry. Herein she loves to share her experiences through offering workshops and talks - for pre-school classes, at universities or on public events.
jeanine@jyoti-fairworks.org

Mareike Jeanine im Jyoti Fair Works Team Deutschland Mareike Jeanine im Jyoti Fair Works Team Deutschland

Mareike is the newest member of the Jyoti-Team. She studied Fashion Design in the Netherlands and since October 2017 she is making the patterns and samples for Jyoti. One of the most important things to her is the prevention or reduction of cutting waste. She loves playing with geometric pattern pieces like with a jigsaw puzzle, to make more sustainable cuts and designs possible. At the moment she also replaces Jeanine during her maternity leave and runs the business in Berlin together with Carolin.
mareike@jyoti-fairworks.org

Caro Caro im Jyoti Fair Works Team Deutschland Caro Caro im Jyoti Fair Works Team Deutschland

Caro joined the team in 2014 and is second CEO. She spends a lot of time on the trails of our textile value chain in India and is responsible for the permanent communication with the weavers and cooperatives. Thereby throughout the years a countless number of teas, lost nerves and reconciliations created very special friendships, which (amongst other things) make working at Jyoti such a personal concern for her. In addition, Caro takes care of the online presence, currently stays in touch with retailers and plans the program for both stitching workshops accordingly.
carolin@jyoti-fairworks.org

Christian Christian im Jyoti Fair Works Team Deutschland Christian Christian im Jyoti Fair Works Team Deutschland

Christian and Jeanine built castles from mattresses and tree houses together as kids. Since he became part of the German team in the beginning of 2014, Christian has helped to build up Jyoti Fair Works, taking care of the technological side of things. He develops and oversees the engineering of our online shop. He also develops in his main profession as a scientist, but in the field of laser beam welding.

And besides these there are some very important persons without we would never have come that far and would certainly give up soon...


Caroline Rabe, Mitgründerin

Caroline Rabe
Co-Founder

Beate von morgen. Martha von morgen.

Beate & Martha from morgen. communication design
www.morgen.jetzt

Jasmin Schlüter, Bekleidungstechnikerin

Jasmin Schlüter
Design & pattern making


Your contribution to Jyoti
- Fair Works

Support

Help is with your donation!

We are a non-profit enterprise. This means that 100% of our profit goes back to our textile workshops in India. There, we not only provide our seamstresses with a secure and fair income but also facilitate health and safety check-ups, as well as further training. Additionally, we offer interest- free and subsidised (25%) loans for investments and expenditures in the health and education sectors. To us, as young entrepreneurs, this is an enormous responsibility, which is carried more easily the more people we are. With your donation you can support our work at Jyoti – Fair Works.

Our banking details
GLS BANK
Account Name: Jyoti – Fair Works gemeinnützige UG (haftungsbeschränkt)
Account Number: 117 006 35 00
BLZ: 430 609 67
IBAN: DE33 4306 0967 1170 0635 00
SWIFT-BIC: GENODEM1GLS

Gerne stellen wir dir für deine We’re happy to issue a donation receipt upon request. Please contact us at: kontakt@jyoti-fairworks.de !

Bilck in Jyoti - Fair Works Werkstatt
Become a Jyoti Ambassador!

We’re always happy about people, who are interested in our work and would like to support our project. There is a variety of opportunities to take an active part in our work at Jyoti, depending on your interest and availability. For example, you could organise a Jyoti evening, where you invite friends and family and introduce our project and products. Additionally, you can inform them about the textile industry and fair trade. We will post selected Jyoti products to you and supply you with informational material. You would like to participate? Just contact us at kontakt@jyoti-fairworks.org and we will discuss the details with you.

FB Twitter Instagram Pinterest Vimeo

Wir sind Jyoti
Fair Works

ÜBER UNS

Jyoti - Fair Works ist ein deutsch-indisches Fair Fashion Label, das Kleidung sozial und ökologisch nachhaltig produziert. Unser Ziel ist es, Kleidung und Accessoires herzustellen, die sowohl unseren Kunden, besonders aber auch allen an der Produktion beteiligten Menschen Freude bereiten – vom Baumwollbauer, über den Weber bis hin zu den Näherinnen. Um das garantieren zu können, ist es uns wichtig, die Menschen zu kennen, die an der Produktion unserer Kleidung beteiligt sind - entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette.

In unserer Nähwerkstatt in dem südindischen Örtchen Chittapur beschäftigen wir gemeinsam mit unserem Kooperationspartner, der NGO Jyothi Seva Kendra, sozial benachteiligte Frauen als Näherinnen, bieten ihnen eine dauerhafte Anstellung, diverse Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten, regelmäßige Krankheitsvorsorgeuntersuchungen sowie ein faires Gehalt. Entlang unserer gesamten Wertschöpfungskette arbeiten wir zudem ausschließlich mit kleinen Familienbetrieben und Kooperativen. In traditioneller Technik weben und bedrucken sie alle unsere Stoffe in liebevoller Handarbeit.

Auf zahlreichen Reisen, haben wir sie alle persönlichen kennengelernt. So können wir nicht nur sicherstellen, dass die Qualität stimmt und umweltschonend produziert wird, sondern auch, dass kein Cent von großen Konzernen oder Mittelmännern verschluckt wird, sondern wirklich bei den Produzenten ankommt und ihr Handwerk unterstützt. Aspekte der Nachhaltigkeit sind für uns nicht nur im Bereich der Produktion unserer Rohstoffe von Bedeutung, sondern haben auch einen maßgeblichen Einfluss auf das Design unserer Produkte. So versuchen wir nicht nur Stücke zu entwerfen, die durch ihren zeitlosen Charakter und ihre Qualität viele Jahre tragbar sind, sondern achten schon beim Entwurf darauf, möglichst wenig Verschnitt zu produzieren und diesen bis auf den letzten Rest weiter zu verwerten.

Wir sehen Jyoti - Fair Works auch als Medium, um eine DISKUSSION anzustoßen. Eine Diskussion über den Wert unserer Kleidung und die Arbeit dir in ihr steckt. Darüber, wie wir die Textilindustrie nachhaltig verändern können und wie wir ein gerechteres Wirtschaftssystem erreichen. Ein erster wichtiger Schritt ist mehr Transparenz – und damit wollen wir gleich anfangen. Aus diesem Grund kommunizieren wir konsequent offen, wie wir arbeiten, wo wir arbeiten und auch vor welchen Problemen wir noch stehen.

Fairtrade nähen stricken handgemacht
Fairtrade nähen stricken handgemacht
»Schon klar, wir alleine werden die Textilindustrie wahrscheinlich nicht umkrempeln. Aber wir können als positives Beispiel vorangehen und zeigen, dass es anders, besser, gerechter geht. Wir können für andere Unternehmen Inspiration und für KundInnen Alternative sein. Und wir können zwölf Frauen in Indien einen Lebensunterhalt ermöglichen. Und das ist auch schon eine ganze Menge finden wir.«
– Jeanine, Gründerin –

Vision Wir setzen uns für eine andere Textilindustrie ein, eine die nicht Profit, sondern Menschen und Umwelt in den Mittelpunkt stellt.

Mission Wir wollen als Fair Fashion Label sicherstellen, dass entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette jedeR Beteiligte gut von seiner/ihrer Arbeit leben kann. Außerdem hat für uns höchste Priorität, die ökologischen Auswirkungen der Textilproduktion so gering wie möglich zu halten.

Value Wir handeln finanziell, sozial und ökologisch nachhaltig. Wir setzen auf eine vertrauensvolle und gleichberechtigte Zusammenarbeit mit all unseren Partnern und glauben an ein offenes Miteinander zur gemeinsamen Entwicklung – mit den Frauen in Indien, unseren Partnern und Kunden.


Hier entsteht eure
Kleidung

Unser Team in Indien

In unserer Nähwerkstatt in Chittapur auf dem Campus der gemeinnützigen Organisation »Jyothi Seva Kendra« arbeiten zurzeit 11 Näherinnen die in liebevoller Handarbeit eure Lieblingsstücke produzieren. Sister Lucy Priya kümmert sich um alles Organisatorische und die direkte Koordination mit Berlin. Seit Anfang 2017 hat sich das Team vergrößert und in Londa unterstützen uns weitere 5 Frauen bei der Arbeit. Sister Laveena koordniniert die Zusammenarbeit mit dieser zweiten Nähwerkstatt.

TEAM CHITTAPUR

Ayesha Ayesha im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien Ayesha Ayesha im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien

Ayesha ist seit 2014 für die gute Laune im Jyoti Team in Indien verantwortlich. Neben dem Nähen von verschiedenen Accessoires und Kleidungsstücken ist sie nämlich immer für einen Scherz zu haben. Am meisten Spaß macht ihr die Arbeit an der Nähmaschine und aktuell besonders die Umsetzung der neuen Kollektion. Von Nagma wird sie liebevoll als „little sister“ bezeichnet – die beiden kennen sich seit sie bei Jyoti angefangen haben und sind seitdem ein Herz und eine Seele.

Nagma Nagma im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien Nagma Nagma im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien

Nagma hat 2014 die Stelle ihrer Schwester Nilofar im indischen Jyoti Team übernommen, als diese für ihre Heirat Chittapur verlassen hat. Genau wie ihre Schwester schätzt sie das nette Team und die guten Arbeitsbedingungen sehr. Nagma ist immer sehr interessiert und neugierig, arbeitet am liebsten an der Nähmaschine und ist interessiert an neuen Schnitten. Gemeinsam mit ihrer besten Freundin Ayesha freut sie sich jedes Mal unglaublich, wenn eine Lieferung fertig produziert und auf dem Weg nach Deutschland ist.

Safiya Safiya im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien Safiya Safiya im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien

Safiya ist bereits seit fünf Jahre Mitglied des indischen Teams und bringt seitdem durch ihr strahlendes Lächeln gute Laune in die Werkstatt. Sie näht die Kleidungsstücke der neuen Kollektion mit großer Sorgfalt und in überzeugender Qualität. Die Nähwerkstatt ist für sie ein Zufluchtsort an dem sie alle Sorgen und Spannungen vergessen und die Gesellschaft der anderen Frauen genießen kann.

Suvarna Suvarna im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien Suvarna Suvarna im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien

Suvarna ist ebenfalls seit dem Beginn fester Bestandteil des indischen Teams. Ihre Kolleginnen schätzen an ihr vor allem ihre besonnene Art und ihre Fähigkeit auch komplizierte Dinge einfach und verständlich zu erklären. Sie sagt die Arbeit bei Jyoti hat sie stärker und mutiger gemacht, hilft ihr finanziell enorm und macht sie sehr glücklich. Innerhalb der letzten sechs Jahre hat sie nicht nur Englisch sprechen, sondern auch lesen gelernt.

Halima Halima im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien Halima Halima im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien

Halima ist seit der Entstehung von Jyoti im Jahr 2010 Mitglied des Teams und steht insbesondere den jüngeren Team Mitgliedern immer mit Rat und Tat beiseite. Besonders gut und gerne fertigt sie filigrane Stickereien an. Halima selber schätzt besonders die finanzielle Sicherheit, die ihr der Job gibt und die ihr ermöglicht für die Ausbildung ihrer Kinder zu finanzieren.

Parveen Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien Parveen Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien

Parveen gehört ebenfalls zum alten Eisen und arbeitet seit 2010 bei Jyoti in Chittapur. Besonders gerne arbeitet sie an der Nähmaschine. Sie hat in den letzten sechs Jahren viel gelernt. Nicht nur was das Nähhandwerk angeht, sondern auch was den Dialog und den Austausch mit anderen Menschen angeht; sie ist viel offener und mutiger geworden und freut sich auf dem Campus von JSK offen und frei sprechen zu können.

Shabanna Shabanna im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien Shabanna Shabanna im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien

Shabanna, auch liebevoll Shabu genannt, freut sich jeden Morgen auf das gesellige Beisammensein und die Arbeit mit ihren Teamkolleginnen. Sie ist von Anfang an als Näherin dabei und lernt besonders gerne neue Schnitte und Designs kennen. Ihr lautes fröhliches Lachen gehört im indischen Team zum Inventar.

Yasmeen Yasmeen im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien Yasmeen Yasmeen im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien

Yasmeen arbeitet seit drei Jahren im indischen Team und verziert die Jyoti Lieblingsstücke besonders gerne mit Stickereien. Durch ihre ruhige und stille Art arbeitet sie immer sehr konzentriert. Gemeinsam mit Ayesha, Nagma und Shabanna gehört sie zu den Küken des Teams. Die Vier stecken gerne mal die Köpfe zusammen und dann hört man nur noch Kichern…

Laxmi Laxmi im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien Laxmi Laxmi im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien

Laxmi ist seit 2014 fester Bestandteil des indischen Teams. Sie freut sich über die vielen neuen Schnitte, die sie in den vergangen zwei Jahre gelernt hat. Die Nähwerkstatt beschreibt sie als einen Ort, an dem sie ihre Sorgen für eine Zeit vergessen kann. Sie ist an allem interessiert, was auf dem Campus von Jyothi Seva Kendra passiert und freut sich immer unglaublich, neue Menschen kennenzulernen und über deren Leben zu erfahren.

Rizwana Riswana im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien Rizwana Riswana im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien

Rizwana ist ebenfalls seit Anfang an Teil des indischen Teams. Für sie ist das Jyoti Team eine zweite Familie („ We are one family here.“). Sie hat große Freude daran, neue Schnitte kennenzulernen und arbeitet besonders gerne an der Nähmaschine. Von ihren Team Kolleginnen wird sie liebevoll als die gute Seele der Nähwerkstatt bezeichnet.

Shashirekha Shashireika im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien Shashirekha Shashireika im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien

Shashirekha ist erst seit dem letzten Jahr Teil des Teams. Sie näht und stickt sehr gerne und hat große Freude an der Umsetzung der neuen Kollektion. Besonders die Hose Hamina hat es ihr angetan. Sie konnte bereits vor ihrer Arbeit bei Jyoti gut nähen, sagt aber dass sie ordentliche und saubere Verarbeitung erst bei Jyoti – Fair Works gelernt hat. Neben den Näharbeiten freut sie sich vor allem hier Gelegenheit zu haben ihr Englisch zu üben.

Sister Lucy Priya Sister Lucy Priya Teamleiter im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien Sister Lucy Priya Sister Lucy Priya Teamleiter im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien

Sister Lucy Priya ist seit vier Jahren für das Management unserer Nähwerkstatt in Chittapur verantwortlich und kümmert sich somit um Personalfragen, Finanzen, Verwaltung und alle organisatorischen Aufgaben vor Ort. Für Fragen des indischen und des deutschen Teams hat sie immer ein offenes Ohr und ist die gute Seele von Jyoti – Fair Works. Hauptberuflich leitet sie den gesamten Jyothi Seva Kendra Trust in Chittapur - je nach Bedarf mit einem strengen Blick oder ihrem verschmitzten Lächeln.

TEAM LONDA

Sambreen Sambreen im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien Sambreen Ayesha im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien

Sambreen und Malaprabha haben bereits zu Kindheitstagen als Nachbarinnen miteinander gespielt. In unserer kleinen Londa Runde ist Sambreen Küken und Frechdachs zugleich. Mit ihrer charmanten Schlagfertigkeit und einem frechen Spruch auf Lager, sorgt sie stets für gute Stimmung im Team. Hat sie einmal Nadel und Faden in der Hand, arbeitet unsere Sambreen jedoch hochkonzentriert und sorgfältig und ist während des Nachmittags Chais kaum von der Maschine zu lösen. Am liebsten näht Sambreen unseren Beutel Balangir.

Arpana Arpana im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien Arpana Arpana im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien

Arpana oder auch Pinky und „Sweetest aunti with the sweetest chai“ ist bereits seit vielen Jahren mit Priya und Prabha befreundet. Sie genießt die Gemeinschaft mit den bestehenden und neugewonnen Freundinnen in der Nährunde sehr und freut sich über die entspannte Atmosphäre im Jyoti-Team. Während die anderen Damen das Bügelbrett eher meiden, hat sich Arpana als große Bügel-Freundin entpuppt. Wenn sie nicht gerade das heiße Eisen über unsere Stoffe schwingt, beschäftigt sie sich am liebsten mit der Ladies Toilet Bag oder dem Beutel Balangir.

Malaprabha Malaprabha im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien Malaprabha Malaprabha im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien

Malaprabha und Sambreen waren schon als kleine Mädchen ein unzertrennbares Team und auch mit Arpana ist sie schon seit vielen Jahren befreundet. Seit dem Abschluss ihres Studiums im Fashion Tailoring arbeitet Prabha für Sr. Laveena und gibt Nähkurse im Social Center von Londa. Mit ihrem Einstieg im Oktober hat sie sich durch ihre langjährige Erfahrung nicht nur als wunderbare Unterstützung, sondern außerdem als hervorragende Lehrerin für den täglichen Englischunterricht entpuppt. Prabhar hat uns verraten, das Unterrichten sei ihr liebster Teil des Jyoti-Arbeitstages. Kaum zu übersehen – in ihrer Rolle als Lehrerin geht sie besonders auf.

Shobha Shobha im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien Shobha Shobha im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien

Shobha kennt alle anderen Damen zwar erst seitdem sie im Jyoti Team ist, man hat allerdings das Gefühl, sie ist schon seit Ewigkeiten mit ihnen befreundet. Obwohl Shobha eher ein Ruhepol im Team ist, steckt sie jeden mit ihrem strahlenden und herzlichen Lachen an. Bei der Arbeit fühlt sich Shobha frei und unbeschwert – sie ist sehr stolz, ihre vier Kinder und ihren Mann nun durch ihr eigenes Einkommen unterstützen zu können. Besonders gern an der Nähmaschine sitzt Shobha wenn es um die Women toilet bag geht.

Priya Priya im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien Priya Priya im Jyoti Fair Works Team Indien

Priya ist als Freundin der anderen Damen und als große Liebhaberin des Stickens ebenfalls nicht aus dem Jyoti-Team in Londa wegzudenken. Durch ihre Arbeit bei Jyoti fühlt sie sich frei und unbeschwert. Mit ihrer ruhigen und besonnen Art bringt Priya eine gemütliche Atmosphäre in die Nähwerkstatt. Ihre Lieblingsteile aus der Jyoti Kollektion haben natürlich alle etwas mit Stickereien zu tun. Ob Elefant, Ente oder Affe, hier ist Priya die absolute Expertin.

Hier rauchen
Köpfe

Unser Team in Deutschland

Das Deutsche Team sitzt, wenn sie nicht gerade in Chittapur neue Schnitte einführen oder in Indien ihre Wertschöpfungskette entlangreisen, in einem Co-Workingspace in Neukölln, Berlin. Dort wird dann gerechnet, geplant, gepackt, gestaltet, gedacht und auch sehr viel gelacht.

Jeanine Jeanine im Jyoti Fair Works Team Deutschland Jeanine Jeanine im Jyoti Fair Works Team Deutschland

Jeanine ist Gründerin, Geschäftsführerin, Designerin und zentraler Kommunikationsknotenpunkt zwischen Indien und Deutschland. Besonders schön an der Arbeit bei Jyoti findet sie, die Inspiration, die aus der Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem indischen und dem deutschen Team entsteht. Besonders wütend wird sie bei dem Thema Arbeitsbedingungen in globalen Wertschöpfungsketten. Das Gute daran: Diese Wut setzt eine Menge Energie frei, und die braucht sie!
jeanine@jyoti-fairworks.org

Caroline Caroline im Jyoti Fair Works Team Deutschland Caroline Caroline im Jyoti Fair Works Team Deutschland

Caroline hat gemeinsam mit Jeanine im Oktober 2013 die unternehmerische Professionalisierung von Jyoti begonnen, die letztlich in der rechtlichen Gründung mündete. Ihre Vorliebe für kreative Brainstormings, Design Thinking und Zukunftsvisionen hat sie seitdem in der Unternehmensentwicklung für Jyoti ausgelebt. Dabei hat sie erfahren welche Kraft Teamzusammenhalt für die tägliche Arbeit gibt. Momentan lebt Caroline in Oslo und ist als strategischer Kopf aus der Ferne dabei.

Caro Caro im Jyoti Fair Works Team Deutschland Caro Caro im Jyoti Fair Works Team Deutschland

Caro ist seit Herbst 2014 mit im Team. Erst in Berlin, dann den Sommer über in Indien, um mehr über die Wertschöpfungskette unserer Produkte herauszufinden und wie wir sie transparenter gestalten können. Seit dieser Zeit pflegt sie eine innige Freundschaft mit unseren Stoffhändlern und telefoniert deswegen am liebsten den ganzen Tag. Außerdem hat sie eine Leidenschaft für Excel Listen und eine noch viel größere für alle indischen und deutschen Jyoti-Members.
carolin@jyoti-fairworks.org

Christian Christian im Jyoti Fair Works Team Deutschland Christian Christian im Jyoti Fair Works Team Deutschland

Christian und Jeanine haben als Kinder zusammen Matratzenburgen und Baumhäuser gebaut. Seit Anfang 2014 baut Christian als Teil des Teams Jyoti Fair works mit auf, indem er sich um die technischen Fragen kümmert. Mit der Zeit ist er zum Entwickler und technischen Verantwortlichen des Onlineshops geworden. Wenn Christian nicht gerade studiert (WirtIng in Aachen), lernt er neue Tricks in der Webentwicklung oder besucht das Team in Berlin.

Ohne sie geht
nichts

Unsere Partner

Jyoti ohne Partner wäre wie Nähen ohne Faden. Unentbehrliche Unterstützung erhalten wir von:

Beate von morgen. Martha von morgen.

Beate & Martha von morgen. Kommunikationsdesignerinnen
www.morgen.jetzt

Ellen Lüdeke, Modedesignerin

Ellen Lüdeke
Modedesignerin
www.elloello.de

Marina Warkentin, Bekleidungstechnikerin

Marina Warkentin Bekleidungstechnikerin

Jasmin Schlüter, Bekleidungstechnikerin

Jasmin Schlüter Gewandmeisterin


Dein Beitrag zu Jyoti
- Fair Works

Unterstützung

Hilf Jyoti mit einer Spende!

Wir sind ein gemeinnütziges Unternehmen. Das bedeutet, alle unsere Gewinne fließen zu 100% zurück in unsere Nähwerkstatt. Dort ermöglichen wir den Näherinnen nicht nur sichere und faire Löhne zu verdienen, sondern auch an regelmäßigen Gesundheitschecks und Weiterbildungen teilzunehmen. Außerdem bieten wir ihnen die Möglichkeit, zinslose und subventionierte (25%) Kredite in den Bereichen Gesundheit und Bildung aufzunehmen. Für uns, als junges Unternehmen, bedeutet dies eine enorme Verantwortung. Mit einer Spende kannst du unsere Arbeit unterstützen, denn auf mehrere Schultern verteilt, trägt sich diese Verantwortung leichter.

Unsere Kontodaten sind:
GLS BANK
Kontoinhaber: Jyoti – Fair Works gemeinnützige UG (haftungsbeschränkt)
Konto: 117 006 35 00
BLZ: 430 609 67
IBAN: DE33 4306 0967 1170 0635 00
SWIFT-BIC: GENODEM1GLS

Gerne stellen wir dir für deine Unterstützung auch eine Spendenquittung aus. Kontaktiere uns dazu einfach unter kontakt@jyoti-fairworks.de !

Bilck in Jyoti - Fair Works Werkstatt
Werde Jyoti-BotschafterIn!

Wir freuen uns immer sehr über Menschen, die sich für unser Projekt begeistern und uns unterstützen wollen. Bei Jyoti gibt es vielfältige Möglichkeiten des Engagements, je nachdem worauf du Lust hast und wie viel Zeit du investieren möchtest. Du kannst z.B. einen Jyoti Abend organisieren. Lade Freunde und Bekannte zu dir ein und stelle das Projekt Jyoti - Fair Works und dessen Produkte vor. Gleichzeitig kannst du über die Textilindustrie und fairen Handel informieren. Wir schicken dir dafür deine ausgesuchten Jyoti Produkte nach Hause und versorgen dich mit weiteren Informationsmaterialien. Lust bekommen? Dann melde dich einfach unter kontakt@jyoti-fairworks.de und wir besprechen die genauen Details.